Adelaide is the capital city of South Australia and the fifth largest Australian capital city. The city of Adelaide is surrounded by the hills on the east, and over 70 kilometres of coastline on the west.

Time zone

Australia is divided into three time zones, with Adelaide coming under Australian Central Standard Time (ACST). The local time in Adelaide is GMT + 9.5 hours.


South Australia has a population of 1.67 million. Over 75% of the population (1.3 million) live within the metropolitan capital of Adelaide. 25% of South Australian residents were born outside of Australia.


South Australia has a Mediterranean climate, with long, hot summers (25⁰C to 35⁰C) and cool to cold, snowless winters (10⁰C to 15⁰C). Adelaide offers more than 2,500 hours of sunshine a year, and without the humidity of other Australian cities.


  • View-of-Elder-Park-in-Adelaide
  • night
  • oval
  • title
  • title
  • kangaroo_island
  • adelaide-fringe